Best approach/extensions/scripts to export Xwiki entire multipage/section/space for a book in the correct order to .odt (or pdf)?

Greetings. I am new to Xwiki, and evaluating it for a specific purpose. I setup our own server and have been using it for a couple weeks now on a daily basis. I was trying to find a complete replacement for GoogleDocs and Confluence and it seems an acceptable replacement. Now I have a specific use case I’m trying to solve, and beginning to wonder if it is viable with Xwiki or not.

It seems SO VERY CLOSE to what I’m trying to solve, but I am not quite able to get across the finish line. I hope folks here can provide some guidance on the best way to solve the following use case:

We have been collaborating with about 5 authors and half a dozen editors for various research and professional training manuals we’re publishing. This has been a horribly tedious and redundant process of passing around .odt files until finally finished and exported to PDF and sent to be published by publishing companies for printed books.

We are getting the desired books we want, but I am hoping we can find a more efficient approach to collaboration and export.
We have also tried GoogleDocs, Confuence, and similar approaches but they have not worked to save time because they jumble things so much.

Is it possible to make Xwiki meet our needs?

The collaboration part of Xwiki works great! No problems there. It is when we try to export to an .odt (preferred) (or PDF can live with if can get in right order and layout). All of the content for the book that we export falls apart because we can’t seem to get it to organize the export rules as desired.

We tried setting numbers for every single page, such as:

1.0 Introduction

1.1 Preface
1.2 Overview
2.0 Topic 1
2.1 Subtopic
2.1.1 Sub-sub-topic
3.0 Topic 2
3.1 Subtopic
etc.

This is working well for the collaboration and making sure the pages are in the right order, online, etc, but not helping with export.