Hi for GSoC 2021! Proposal to work on CryptPad

Hi, I’m Thomas, a French first-year bachelor student in Computer Science at EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne). I’m also a self-taught Web developer and a longtime user and fan of CryptPad. I’d love to participate in Google Summer of Code 2021 and work for you on improving CryptPad.

Even though the only thing I’ve contributed for now is a detailed bug report, I’ve been wanting to contribute to CryptPad for a while. So when I saw that XWiki was one of the participating organizations for Google Summer of Code 2021, I saw the perfect opportunity, because I would have both the free time to contribute, and the whole summer to get familiar with the code and really get productive!

I’ve always been passionate about technology, both in itself and for the impact that it has on society (privacy, monopolies, advertising, free software, free culture, surveillance, collaboration, entertainment, social relationships…). I’ve been teaching myself programming and Web development for years: building Pong games with Scratch when I was 12, Caesar cypher programs in Java when I was 13, static websites and blogs with HTML, CSS and Jekyll when I was 14, React applications when I was 15, being a maintainer of the (now defunct) freeCodeCamp Guide project, maintaining a WordPress website and all the digital tooling of the association I co-creatad last year, and now more advanced Java projects in my studies at EPFL. I also did a one-month internship as a web developer at Urbandoor (recently acquired by Airbnb) in San-Francisco, working on their React Web app during the summer of 2017, when I was 15. So I think CryptPad really is the best project for me to work on, as it it at the crossroads of many of my favorite topics: privacy and surveillance, free software, collaboration, design and usability, and of course coding itself.