How to enable extension LDAP Authenticator after upgrading

An old instance of XWiki used to have the extension LDAP Authenticator working, and after upgrading to v13.10.9, LDAP stopped working. So, I am now logging in by enabling the superadminpassword.

On the old instance, I noticed that the xwiki.cfg file contains the below section of LDAP configurations mentioned on the official XWiki extension page above; however, the new version does not have it. So, not sure if we are supposed to add in the configurations manually.

I am new to this part of the configuration, so any hints or suggestions will be helpful.

Partial xwiki.cfg file regarding LDAP:

#---------------------------------------
# LDAP
#

#-# LDAP authentication service
# xwiki.authentication.authclass=com.xpn.xwiki.user.impl.LDAP.XWikiLDAPAuthServiceImpl

#-# Turn LDAP authentication on - otherwise only XWiki authentication
#-# - 0: disable
#-# - 1: enable
#-# The default is 0
xwiki.authentication.ldap=1

#-# LDAP Server (Active Directory, eDirectory, OpenLDAP, etc.)
xwiki.authentication.ldap.port=389
xwiki.authentication.ldap.server=xxx.xxx.xx

#-# LDAP login, empty = anonymous access, otherwise specify full dn

Well, LDAP is not enabled in that xwiki.cfg, whatever the version of XWiki. But maybe you are the one who commented the xwiki.authentication.authclass property ?

You did not indicate from which version of XWiki you upgraded to, not easy to be sure, but let’s assume it was < 8.3. What changed in 8.3 is that the LDAP authenticator is not embedded anymore and you have to:

• install the “LDAP Authenticator” extension
  • use org.xwiki.contrib.ldap.XWikiLDAPAuthServiceImpl for xwiki.authentication.authclass property

See LDAP Authenticator (XWiki.org) for more details about the move.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply, @tmortagne.

I am upgrading from v7.0.1 to v13.10.9.

And, I will confirm the solution if it works in testing. Thank you for your help and patience.