Install Xwiki on MAC OS X MOJAVE

Hello to the community,

my name is Holger and I’m quite new to XWIKI. I wonder, does anybody found/have a How-to Install XWIKI on a MAC? I tried to install step by step (Java 1.8, Tomcat8, MySQL5.7, XWiki10.11.3) but ran into issues (The Admin Page does not show any Icons (Images)
I then tried to dig a bit deeper in the Docker images. It seems, that installing XWIKI on a MAC is not very common (I really wonder about that, as Wiki is the official replacement of MAC OS Server WIKI)

I’m looking for a complete how-to get a stable version up and running.

Any help/hint would be highly appreciated.

Thanks a lot and take care

Holger

Hi, is that a production instance or just for testing?

And? That’s a breeze, takes about 1 minute to install after you have docker installed :wink:

Hey vmassol,

thanks a lot for your reply, really much appreciate it. It will become a production machine. I do have a MAC Mini, that I’d love to get up and running.

As said, unfortunately the manual way was not successful, even though I did have taken into account to use only compatible Versions of Open JDK, Tomcat and MySQL.

I did checked my syntax in the Docker solution and found an issue I’ve made with the “-v path”

Heres what I did:

• Install Docker Desktop for MAC (No big deal, was just a Package)
    In the Terminal:
  • docker pull xwiki (pulling a lot)
  • docker network create -d bridge xwiki-nw
  • docker run --net=xwiki-nw --name mysql-xwiki -v /Library/DockerImages/mysql:/var/lib/mysql -e MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD=XXXXX -e MYSQL_USER=xwiki -e MYSQL_PASSWORD=XXXXX -e MYSQL_DATABASE=xwiki -d mysql:5.7 --character-set-server=utf8 --collation-server=utf8_bin --explicit-defaults-for-timestamp=1
  • docker run --net=xwiki-nw --name xwiki -p 8080:8080 -v /Library/DockerImages/xwiki:/usr/local/xwiki -e DB_USER=xwiki -e DB_PASSWORD=XXXXX -e DB_DATABASE=xwiki -e DB_HOST=mysql-xwiki xwiki:lts-mysql-tomcat

Now I do see the Distribution Wizard :slight_smile: