Prevent users from being able to change or view page rights

Hello All!
I’m very new to Xwiki and trying to configure it as a pilot/demo of what a wiki can do for the company where I work.

I’m very impressed with Xwiki, especially in terms of customisation, however I need some help locking some aspects down.

There may be more questions in future, but for now I’d like help with the following:

• How do I prevent users from being able to change (or view page rights)?
  • How do I prevent a user from becoming an “advanced user”? If I do this will the user still be able to create terminal pages from templates if this is the default template behaviour?
  • Is it possible to protect objects in a page?

Regards,
Ben

Hello,

http://platform.xwiki.org/xwiki/bin/view/AdminGuide/Access%20Rights

You could modify xwiki users class:
/bin/edit/XWiki/XWikiUsers?editor=class
set “Default Editor (editor: Static List)” field = disabled
or use a CSS (SSX object) to hide “Default Editor” field

If a user want a terminal page, then he must use the URL parameter (without WebHome):
bin/edit/MyCurrenPage/NewTerminalPage?template=xxxxx
bin/edit/MyCurrenPage/NewPage/WebHome?template=xxxxx
:disappointed:
or you could edit the template: ./templates/createinline.vm to unhide the “Terminal page” checkbox:

<dt class="$hidden">
          <input type="checkbox" id="terminal" name="tocreate" value="terminal" #if(!$isSpace)checked="checked"#end/>

If user can edit the page I think that you cannot protect object of this page (I’m not certain anyway)

Pascal B

Thanks for the help Pascal.