Thoughts on XWiki after a year as an XWiki developer

Hi everyone!

I’ve joined XWiki SAS in October 2021 with my main task being to work on the XWiki open source project. I somehow missed introducing myself here in the forum even though I’ve already written 159 posts and created 45 topics here so let me take this occasion to a) briefly introduce myself and b) provide some impressions after one year of being part of XWiki.

Introduction

I think it was sometime around 2004 when I discovered wiki software and around 2007 when I started using DokuWiki for my personal website. I was attracted by the flexibility it provided, having extensions like the blog plugin that lets you turn a part of the wiki into a blog (a bit similar to the Blog Application in XWiki). I started contributing to DokuWiki in 2008 after meeting the developers of DokuWiki at FrOSCon 2008. In the following years, I studied informatics and spent quite some working on DokuWiki and extensions. In 2016, I represented DokuWiki at FOSDEM at a shared stand with XWiki (and Tiki) and Ludovic mentioned to me that XWiki is always looking for PhD developers as I had started a PhD two years ago. Fast forward to 2021, I had finished my PhD and was now looking for a new job. As it happens in so many cases, life happened and my time for open source contributions got rarer over the years. Therefore, contributing to open source during my job seemed like a great option to basically turn my hobby into a job. I remembered XWiki, applied and, well, here I am. :grinning:

Impressions coming from DokuWiki