Which java/openjdk version to use for my jar extension?

I’m writing my own extension in Java. My pom.xml looks like this:

<parent>
   <groupId>org.xwiki.commons</groupId>
   <artifactId>xwiki-commons-pom</artifactId>
   <version>11.10.3</version>
</parent>
<!-- more stuff removed for brevity -->

I’m not a Java expert, and I looked at the Java Support Strategy for XWiki. So my confusion is: how could xwiki-commons and xwiki-* other modules support both Java 8 and Java 11 ? I mean xwiki-commons is built with either Java 8, or Java 11, but not both? And indeed, xwiki-commons/**/pom.xml seems to mention Java 8 only:

<!-- Java -->
<java.version>1.8</java.version>

(I assume Java 1.8 means the same thing as Java 8)

Does that mean xwiki-commons is built with Java 8 only? If so, does that mean I’m forced to use Java 8 to build my extension? If so, why does Java Support Strategy mention Java 11 as well?

Java is retro compatible. XWiki is built with Java 8 to be sure it run in Java 8 or more.

In general you should build you extension with the same version of Java used by the minimum version of XWiki you support. If you used the wrong one you will get an error when releasing anyway (there is an enforcer configured in the parent pom) so you should be safe.

1 Like

@tmortagne

Java is retro compatible. XWiki is built with Java 8 to be sure it run in Java 8 or more .

That means I can use Java 11 ? and it’ll still work with xwiki-commons even if it’s built with Java 8.

In general you should build you extension with the same version of Java used by the minimum version of XWiki you support. If you used the wrong one you will get an error when releasing anyway (there is an enforcer configured in the parent pom) so you should be safe.

The minimum version of XWiki is Java 8? Now that sounds confusing. Looks like I’m missing something. :thinking:

We recommend using Java 11 with XWiki.