Horizontal navigation menu like the one on xwiki.org

Hey, I’m new to xwiki and am looking to deploy it for a local nonprofit makerspace. the view source button on xwiki.org has been very helpful to see how one might build up a xwiki page.

Unfortunately I can’t find the source for the menu on xwiki.org. I’ve managed to build something by using the menu application and styling it via the advanced section under color theme:

2020-08-14-144123_2559x260_scrot

I’d like to have the menu (and logo) items start on the further to the right, above the content similar to how it is on the front page of xwiki.orgis, but I can’t seem to figure out how to accomplish this.

Have tried searching around the forums, but I might be using the wrong terms.

Thank you in advance

Hi @dali99,

Welcome! Hope you are liking XWiki. :slight_smile:

Nice seeing you getting this far with the menu. Just simple easy steps now.

I will explain how xwiki.org does it. Please follow the following steps.

1. Make sure you are logged in as admin and can edit all pages.
  2. Go to the home page and click the arrow beside “Edit” button and choose “Objects” from the dropdown.
  3. Add a new “StyleSheetExtension” object to the page by searching “StyleSheetExtension” and clicking “Add”.
  4. Add this code in the “Code” property of the object.
    #xwikimaincontainer {
        width: 970px;
    }

5. Make “Use this extension” property “On page or on demand” if you only want the changes on home page (as in xwiki.org) or “On this wiki” if you want the changes to affect the entire website.
  6. Changing the right and left padded background of the menu and the top bar with logo is kind of a workaround using CSS as well. Append the following styles to the “Code” property again.
    #menuview {
        box-shadow: #000000 -75rem 0px 0px, #000000 75rem 0px 0px;
    }
    .menu.navigation-menu { /*You can also get an ID selector by inspecting the menu through dev tools*/