Xwiki:mariadb-tomcat docker always crashes when installing standard flavor

I’ve installed xwiki:mariadb-tomcat using the docker image. When I first ran it, it took me straight to the wizard and eventually crashed while installing the standard flavor. I restarted the docker image and it took me to the wiki, but when I log in, it resumes the wizard where it left off. I might make a little progress on installing the flavor each time, but it keeps crashing and I have to try again and again. My hope is to demo this to my employer as a possible CMS, but I’m a little worried about reliability at this point without understanding the problem.

I’m relatively new to docker, so I’m not even sure where I’d find xwiki’s logs. docker logs doesn’t seem to be getting the debug output from the flavor installation.

I’d appreciate any help you can offer.

Hi, can you provide more info on what you mean by “crash” and provides the logs of the xwiki docker image output (docker log <container id>)?

Thx

I can, yes, but it’s not going to be very informative, as it never outputs anything new after it’s done booting. And by crashes, I means the docker container exits with no further output to logs.

xwiki.log (71.4 KB)

It’s worth noting, btw, that I have tried installing the .deb package as well and run into a different problem there. Not sure whether I should address that in a separate thread or treat this thread as “whatever it takes to get xwiki working for me”.

Note that it seems you’re not using the right way to stop XWiki. You should stop the docker image and not restart the webapp using Tomcat’s manager (see all the warnings in the logs).

I don’t see anything wrong in the logs though. The last start of the docker image has resulted in XWiki being started but no HTTP(S) request was made to it.

Note that it seems you’re not using the right way to stop XWiki. You should stop the docker image and not restart the webapp using Tomcat’s manager (see all the warnings in the logs).